QREATE is the website of me, Rick Curran, a freelance web / design|develop|er based in Dundee, Scotland. The site was originally called ‘Suburbia’ and started around 2005. It’s a place where I write about things I find interesting such as digital technology, art, design, web development, WordPress, Apple, photography, graphic design, skateboarding, mountain biking, snowboarding, family, friends and more.

It’s also a place where you can find out more about various Projects I’ve developed such as WordPress plugins, mobile / web apps and also t-shirt designs that I produce under the “Life-Sized Clothing” brand. 

Sometimes I talk to people about skateboarding:

My Background

My background in both study and work spans graphic design, fine art and software development. My primary work day-to-day is web design / development working on front-end and back-end development, Content Management Systems, WordPress and web application development. I have over 25 years experience working in these areas.

My primary focus in recent years has been across various aspects of front end and back end development with a keen focus on projects using WordPress, custom theme and plugin development. I have experience developing and managing projects currently as a freelancer and previously within a small communication design agency called [wideopenspace] that I founded back in 1999.

As well as design and development roles my work has involved project and client relationship management, pre-sales roles such as liaising with potential clients and providing ongoing support to existing clients.

I hope you enjoy reading the site, and feel free to leave a comment – it’s great to get feedback about what’s been written – good or bad!

You can email me via rickcurran ~at~ gmail – dot – com

Some facts about Rick:

  • Lives in Dundee, Scotland.
  • Likes to skateboard, snowboard, surf (ok, not really much surfing!), ride bikes of both the mountain and BMX varieties (and a wee bit of road cycling).
  • Married to a Canadian girl called Anne.
  • Has three children, Natalie who is 21 years old, Gabriella who is 16 years old and Timothy who is 14 years old :)
  • Freelance web|graphic|design|develop|er.
  • Noob iOS developer.
  • Background in Design, Fine Art and Web Development.
  • Doesn’t play any instruments, but did try to learn bass once.
  • Long-time Mac geek.
  • (in)frequently Instagrams.